

St. Mary's County Government

AGRICULTURE, SEAFOOD, AND FORESTRY BOARD

P.O. Box 653, 23115 Leonard Hall Drive, Leonardtown, MD 20650 •TELEPHONE 301-475-4200 ext. 1402 • Fax 301-475-4414

Phil Dorsey James "Bubby" Norris John K. Parlett, Jr., Chairman
David Paulk, Vice Chairman
Adam Dyson
Michael Sirk
James Spence

James Moore Joseph Wood

Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board April 10, 2013 Meeting Minutes

Call to Order

The Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board meeting was held in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center. Members in attendance were John Parlett, David Paulk, Adam Dyson, James Moore, Michael Sirk, James Spence, and Joseph Wood. Also present were Tom Koviak from the St. Mary's Soil Conservation District, Ben Beale from the Maryland Cooperative Extension Service and Donna Sasscer and Lisa Ledman from the St. Mary's County's Economic Development Department. Guest attendees included Tucker Brown along with Greg Bowen and Christine Bergmark from the Southern Maryland Agriculture Development Commission. Members not in attendance included Phil Dorsey and James Norris. The meeting was called to order at 12:20 p.m. Attendance was called and it was confirmed that there were enough members present to form a quorum. Minutes from the February 14, 2013 meeting were presented and unanimously approved by the Board.

Old Business

Agriculture Services Center – Mr. Parlett abstained from any discussion and votes in regards to the Agriculture Services Center. The County's Capital Improvement Projects (CIP) budget has been submitted and at this time the Board of County Commissioners have not expressed any concerns with the request. Ms. Sasscer questioned if it was in the best interests for her office to move to the new building as well – at its current location there is a cohesive economic development "team" yet moving to the Agriculture Services Center would be most convenient to the agriculture community. It was the consensus of the Board that Ms. Sasscer's office should also be relocated to the Agriculture Services Center and a letter to the Director of the Department of Economic and Community Development will be drafted by Mr. David Paulk.

New Business

Arrangements for Robert Jarboe will be as follows:

Visitation: The family will receive friends on Thursday, March 14, 2013 from 5:00PM to 8:00PM with prayers recited at 7:00PM in Holy Face Catholic Church, Great Mills, MD. Services: A Mass of Christian burial will be celebrated on Friday, March 15, 2013 at 10:00AM in Holy Face Catholic Church with Father Joseph Calis officiating. Interment will follow in the church cemetery

The Board voted 4 to 1 with 1 abstention to send a letter to the Board of County Commissioners opposing the Proposed Zoning Text Amendment to "Modify Methods for Achieving a Floor Area Ratio Increase". The majority of the Board believes that supporting this measure will undermine the County's Transferrable Development Rights Program.

Dr. Christine Bergmark and Mr. Greg Bowen from the Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission (SMADC) briefed the Board on various programs offered by their office. Specific attention was given to the Maryland FarmLINK Mentor Match Program which matches experienced farmers with those younger/newer farmers who would benefit from their knowledge and familiarity.

Sub-Committee Reports

Farmers Markets Sub-Committee

Members – Joseph Wood (Chairman), James Moore (Vice Chair), David Paulk
Mr. Parlett met with Mayor Burris of Leonardtown who is interested in working with members
of the Farmers Market Sub-Committee to find a viable location for a farm market in
Leonardtown

Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Board

Members – James Spence (Chairman), James Moore (Vice Chair), Adam Dyson, David Paulk, Joseph Wood

Members for the Agriculture Land Preservation Advisory Board previously met to discuss a Forrest Mitigation Request. The request did not meet the regulations provided from the Maryland Agriculture Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF). The applicant was notified of this and plans to resubmit a new request abiding by the regulations.

Agricultural Reconciliation Committee

Members – vacant (Chairman), Michael Sirk (Vice Chair), Phil Dorsey, Adam Dyson, & James "Bubby" Norris

A chairman for the Agricultural Reconciliation Committee will be appointed at the next meeting.

Open Comment

Mr. Paulk requested additional information about the partnership with the Navy for easement funding. Ms. Sasscer will brief the Board at the next meeting about efforts currently underway between the Patuxent Tidewater Land Trust, Maryland Department of Environment, St. Mary's County and the Navy.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 2:15 p.m. The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, April 10, 2013 at noon in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center.